Thursday, May 29, 2014

0 Giveaway: The Bookman's Tale

A 2013 Barnes & Noble Recommends Selection,
now available in paperback
The Bookman’s Tale
A Novel of Obsession

By Charlie Lovett



Praise for The Bookman’s Tale:
“[A] delightful tale of love and bibliophilia.”
Parade

“Lovett tells his story with ease, charm and a faith in his characters.”
USA Today

“This novel has something for everyone: William Shakespeare, a love story, murder and even a secret tunnel.”
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

The Bookman’s Tale has plenty of richness to offer. Lovett is deft at juggling plots and eras. “
—Atlanta Journal-Constituion

“. . . a treat.”
—New York Journal of Books

Lovett’s tale sparkles with seasoned storytelling, and . . . is deftly handled by an author whose playwright roots and sense of scene showcase the skill to keep the reader turning pages.”
—The Mountain Times

Charlie Lovett’s spellbinding New York Times-bestselling debut is guaranteed to capture the hearts of anyone who truly loves books. THE BOOKMAN’S TALE (Penguin; ISBN: 978-0-143-12538-9; On-sale: May 27, 2014; $16.00) combines the excitement of a centuries-old literary conspiracy with the touching love story of a shy bookseller.

In a dusty bookshop in Hay-on-Wye, Wales, Peter Byerly, a widowed American antiquarian bookseller, stumbles across a miniature portrait of his dead wife—but his wife died in 1994 and the portrait is clearly Victorian. When he tries to learn more about the watercolor, Peter is swept up in a web of mystery and intrigue and uncovers what could be the most important (and valuable) artifact in the history of English literature—a book that appears to have marginalia written by William Shakespeare positively proving the identity of the great playwright. But Peter is not the only person interested in the watercolor and the book. Framed for murder and with the killers on his trail, he is desperate to find out if the book is genuine or a forgery. Along the way, the reader is transported back to London in the late sixteenth century and the English countryside in the 1870s, finally discovering not only the truth about the lost book, but also about Peter’s own past and that of his beloved Amanda who died so young.

Fans of Diane Setterfield, A. S. Byatt, Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Joanne Harris—and anyone looking to embark on an exciting hunt for the “holy grail” of literary finds—will loveTHE BOOKMAN’S TALE.


About the Author:
CHARLIE LOVETT is a writer, teacher, and playwright whose plays for children have been seen in over 3000 productions worldwide. He served for more than a decade as Writer-in-Residence at Summit School in Winston-Salem , NC . He is a former antiquarian bookseller, and he has collected rare books and other materials related to Lewis Carroll for more than 25 years. He and his wife, Janice, split their time between Winston-Salem and Kingham, Oxfordshire.



THE BOOKMAN’S TALE
Penguin; $16.00
ISBN: 978-0-143-12538-9; On Sale May 27, 2014

Visit the author on the web at www.charlielovett.com


CHARLIE LOVETT WILL BE TOURING TO:


Dayton, OH                Books & Co at the Green / 7:00 pm                                                  June 2

Cincinnati, OH           Joseph-Beth Booksellers / 7:00 pm                                                    June 3
                                               
Wichita, KS                Watermark Books / 6:00 pm                                                              June 10

Pittsburgh /                 Penguin Bookshop / 6:00 pm                                                              June 11
Sewickley, PA                                                                                    





a Rafflecopter giveaway

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

To Read, or Not To Read Copyright © 2010-2016 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates