Tuesday, November 3, 2015

10 Giveaway: A Christmas Carol and The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge



First published on December 19, 1843, A Christmas Carol was an instant classic: Londoners thronged to hear Dickens read it in person and bought out the first printing in days. Its reception was so ecstatic that it is credited with helping to revive interest among the Victorians in Christmas traditions, including caroling and holiday cards, as well as inciting an unexpected wave of charitable giving from Britain’s Industrial Age robber barons. Originally conceived as a pamphlet against exploitative capitalism before taking its current form, it has inspired dozens of theatrical and movie adaptions, and its characters, from Scrooge to Tiny Tim, are forever inscribed in our hearts and minds.



On a hot summer day some twenty years after he was famously converted to kindness, Ebenezer Scrooge still roams the streets of London, spreading Christmas cheer, much to the annoyance of his creditors, nephew, and his employee Bob Cratchit. However, when Scrooge decides to help his old friend and former partner Jacob Marley, as well as other inhabitants of the city, he will need the assistance of the very people he’s annoyed. He’ll also have to call on the three ghosts that visited him two decades earlier. By the time they’re done, they’ve convinced everyone to celebrate Christmas all year long by opening their wallets, arms, and hearts to those around them.

Written in uncannily Dickensian prose, Charlie Lovett’s The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge is both a loving and winking tribute to the Victorian classic, perfect for readers of A Christmas Carol and other timeless holiday tales.



Thanks to Viking and Penguin, I have a copy of the Penguin Classics Edition of A Christmas Carol and Charlie Lovett's latest novel, The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge. This giveaway is for US addresses only. You must be at least 13 years old to enter. Please read our giveaway policy before entering. Good luck! 


10 comments:

  1. Yay! I love book giveaway. Definitely great picks for the holidays!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh I try to read a version or new edition of this classic tale every year. Good luck everyone!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Well Marley is definitely the scariest but I think I like the Ghost of Christmas Present the most. A big, jolly guy, ready for fun.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ebenezer Scrooge is my favorite character. Thanks for this great giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Scrooge is my favorite character.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Bob Cratchit, always felt sorry for this kind man.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Scrooge is my favorite character. It is good to see the change in him,

    ReplyDelete
  8. My favorite character is also Scrooge. because I think we can all relate to him in some way.

    ReplyDelete

 

To Read, or Not To Read Copyright © 2010-2016 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates