Posts

An essential discussion of how strong women experience their power: The Power Notebooks

Image
The Power Notebooks by Katie Roiphe Narrated by: Katie Roiphe Length: 6 hrs and 14 mins Published March 3rd 2020 by Simon Schuster Audio ISBN13: 9781797102863
Katie Roiphe, culture writer and author of The Morning After, shares a timely blend of memoir, feminist investigation, and exploration of famous female writers’ lives, in a bold, essential discussion of how strong women experience their power.
Told in a series of notebook entries, Roiphe weaves her often fraught personal experiences with divorce, single motherhood, and relationships with insights into the lives and loves of famous writers such as Sylvia Plath and Simone de Beauvoir. She dissects the way she and other ordinary, powerful women have subjugated their own power time and time again, and she probes brilliantly at the tricky, uncomfortable question of why.
In these informal musings and notes, Roiphe delves into treacherous, largely untalked about, contradictions of contemporary womanhood, going where few writers dare. …

Audiobook Review: Unwind Your Mind

Image
Unwind Your Mind: The life-changing power of ASMR by Emma WhispersRed Narrated by: Emma WhispersRed, Kristin Atherton Series: Emma WhispersRed ASMR Length: 5 hrs and 3 mins Published August 8th 2019 by HarperAudio ISBN13: 9780062996442


A mind-tingling massage, ASMR or Autonomous Sensory Meridian response is a form of sound healing that helps to ease stress and anxiety, improve sleep and enhance social connection.

Join the millions experiencing the deeply calming, multi-sensory sensation with celebrated ASMRtist Emma WhispersRed as she reveals how to unwind your mind and harness the power of ASMR in everyday life.

'Our studies now provide scientific evidence in support of the idea that ASMR is relaxing – it isn’t just people telling us that ASMR makes them feel relaxed, their physiology is telling us the same thing too... Emma’s insights will encourage and guide others to discover the potential benefits and power of ASMR' Dr Giulia Poerio, Professor of Psychology at the Univer…

Her Side of History by Claudia Severin #HerSideofHistory #ClaudiaJSeverin #historicalficiton #histfic #bookblast #HFVBTBlogTours

Image
Her Side of History by Claudia Severin Publication Date: February 24, 2020 Pella Road Publishing Paperback & eBook; 303 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction

Author Claudia J. Severin took things into her own hands when her genealogy research seemed limiting. Follow her foremothers, four mothers plucked from her family tree. She reimagines the lives of ancestral families in this anthology. Ina, the tragic suffragette, traded her college degree and teaching career for a loving husband and children in the 1910s, in the shadow of the Great War, but things did not work out as she planned. Mary, a German immigrant, finds love with an Iowa farmer, and crosses the state in a covered wagon with his entire family to become a homesteader on the Nebraska plains in 1869. She didn’t know that Indian encounters, prairie fires and locusts would threaten her and her rapidly growing family. Nellie fell for the bad boy, the Good Time Charley who didn’t let a little thing like Prohibition stand in his wa…

Review: A Murderous Relation

Image
A Murderous Relation (Veronica Speedwell #5)
by Deanna Raybourn
Hardcover, 308 pages
Published March 10th 2020 by Berkley Books
ISBN13: 9780451490742


Summary Veronica Speedwell and her natural historian colleague Stoker are asked by Lady Wellingtonia Beauclerk to help with a potential scandal so explosive it threatens to rock the monarchy. Prince Albert Victor is a regular visitor to the most exclusive private club in London, known as the Club de l'Etoile, and the proprietess, Madame Aurore, has received an expensive gift that can be traced back to the prince. Lady Wellie would like Veronica and Stoker to retrieve the jewel from the club before scandal can break.
Worse yet, London is gripped by hysteria in the autumn of 1888, terrorized by what would become the most notorious and elusive serial killer in history, Jack the Ripper--and Lady Wellie suspects the prince may be responsible.
Veronica and Stoker reluctantly agree to go undercover at Madame Aurore's high class brothel…

Happy Book Birthday to A Murderous Relation by Deanna Raybourn!

Image
Happy Book Birthday to A Murderous Relation! Thank you to Deanna Raybourn for writing such a fantastic book! 

A Murderous Relation (Veronica Speedwell #5) by Deanna Raybourn
Veronica Speedwell and her natural historian colleague Stoker are asked by Lady Wellingtonia Beauclerk to help with a potential scandal so explosive it threatens to rock the monarchy. Prince Albert Victor is a regular visitor to the most exclusive private club in London, known as the Club de l'Etoile, and the proprietess, Madame Aurore, has received an expensive gift that can be traced back to the prince. Lady Wellie would like Veronica and Stoker to retrieve the jewel from the club before scandal can break.
Worse yet, London is gripped by hysteria in the autumn of 1888, terrorized by what would become the most notorious and elusive serial killer in history, Jack the Ripper--and Lady Wellie suspects the prince may be responsible.
Veronica and Stoker reluctantly agree to go undercover at Madame Aurore's hi…

A Mini Masterclass on Reading and Writing

Image
You can improve your writing skills and become a deeper reader in just one afternoon. That sounds like a gimmick, doesn't it? But wait, there's more! There are thousands of books on writing and possibly a few less on creating a deeper reading experience. So if you're looking for something to help you, might I suggest looking to the experts: C.S. Lewis and Earnest Hemingway. These books aren't necessarily how-to books, but more like a memoir. On Writing and The Reading Life are both compiled from letters, interviews, and essays to provide insight to the reader on how to improve their skills.
I listened to both books as audiobooks in two afternoons. Their lengths is perfect for those who commute on a daily basis. Though both books were great to listen to, John Bedford Lloyd did a superb job in bringing Hemingway's voice to life. Consider these books to be a masterclass of advice from two of the greatest writers of all time. You'll walk away with new insights on …

Audiobook Revew: The Light After the War

Image
The Light After the War by Anita Abriel Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky Published February 4th 2020 by Simon Schuster Audio Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins ISBN13: 9781797102191
Summary Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones.
It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight.
But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappea…