Posts

Showing posts from October, 2011

Flash excerpt from Tracy Falbe's newest fantasy novel Savage Storm: Rys Rising Book II.

Image
From Savage Storm: Rys Rising Book II by Tracy Falbe
Dacian and Onja entered the tower with the rushing crowd of rys. They mounted the marble platform and entered the levitation shaft. They went first to the Nebakarz library and secured it with spells and then they checked all the private chambers of the priests and collected their journals and warding crystals. With these potentially important things in their possession, Dacian and Onja allowed the other rys to loot the tower and glut themselves on righteous destruction. It suited the new King and Queen to let their willing subjects strip the tower of furnishings and smash Nufalese d├ęcor. Dacian and Onja would remake their new stronghold to suit themselves.
From the observatory, they watched the rys rushing through the tower in an ecstasy of possession.
Looking down the center of the tower that sang with insurrection, Onja said, “The tabre will never take back this place. Never.”
Dacian wholly agreed but warned, “Yet we shall surely have…

Mr. Darcy's Bite

Image
Title: Mr. Darcy's Bite
Author: Mary Lydon Simonsen
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: October 1 , 2011
paperback(arc), 322 pages
ISBN: 978-1-4022-5077-4
Genre: Paranormal
available @ Amazon| B&N


Summary:
In the tradition of Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange (35,000 copies sold) this fresh, original paranormal Jane Austen sequel by bestselling author Mary Lydon Simonson explores Mr. Darcy as the leader of a secret world of werewolves threatened with extinction.
Elizabeth comes to realize that she loves him in both his incarnations, and all his servants protect his secret. But then Elizabeth must confront a shocking danger to her beloved with every full moon, when Darcy is alone and exposed to those who hate wolves...



My thoughts:
Mr. Darcy's Bite by Mary Lydon Simonsen is a continuation of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. In this novel, Jane and Mr. Bingley are already married and Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth are courting. Every time Mr. Darcy comes to visit, Elizab…

Cover Reveal: Betrayed by Ednah Walters

Image
Spencer Hill Press is re-releasing Betrayed by Ednah Walters. To celebrate they've given Betrayed a new cover: I've not read this series yet but it sounds good. 

Title: Betrayed Series: Guardian Legacy Author: Ednah Walters Publisher: Spencer Hill Press, www.SpencerHillPress.com ISBN: 978-1-937053-18-5 (Trade Paper), 978-1-937053-19-2 (e-book) Release Date: June, 2012
Summary:
Lil isn't just an average teenager. She's one of the Nephilim--the descendants of humans and angels--which gives her some serious psi skills and a mission for redemption. Just when Lil thinks she's found a balance between her normal life with human friends and her training to become a Guardian, she's warned that someone close to her will betray her. When the boy she loves starts acting strangely and one of her human friends acquires a supernatural ability, Lil begins to realize that someone is manipulating the people she loves... and won't stop until she's been lured to the dark side.

So w…

Sabine A. Reed Guest Post: Story Writing Why Less is More

Image
Story Writing – Why less is More?
A writer’s job is to make a story as interesting and dramatic as possible. The characters should leap off the pages, be alive and engage the readers in their lives. The reader needs to care for the hero’s motivation, to cry and laugh along with the main characters and to feel their pain. It isn’t easy to make a fictional world seem real, but here are few tips to make your story as fascinating as possible. 
Make each scene count  Too many times I’ve read books by new writers who are trying to paint a minutely detailed picture. Fine, you need a setting that’s plausible and real, but do I really need to know every single aspect of the room the hero’s standing in? Instead, give me an action sequence, a dialogue and just brush lightly over the details. A golden rule is that for every paragraph of description, there should be at least four paragraphs of action/dialogue. 
Action speaks louder than thoughts. If your character enters a scene, sits in a chair and br…

Grimm and Once Upon A Time

Image
I love fairy tales! That is why I was so excited to hear about two new television series premiering this fall, Grimm and Once Upon A Time.  Once Upon a Time aired last Sunday on ABC. I really like the first episode and I can't wait to see the direction they take the show. Also I'm a huge fan of Ginnifer Goodwin. Once Upon A Time is written by the same people as Lost. I hope they have a plan for this show and it doesn't get all crazy in the middle like Lost did.




Grimm looks much darker. If you've read any of the Grimm fairy tales you know that they don't guarantee a happy ending. However I'm really excited to watch it. Look for it Friday on NBC.





So what do you think? Are you going to watch? Do you think these shows will live up to expectations?

Destined Giveaway

Image
Thanks to Zietghost Media I'm giving away a copy of the latest House of Night Book, Destined by P.C Cast & Kristen Cast. To enter, please fill out the form below. This giveaway is open to US/Canada  addresses only. Giveaway ends November 3, 2011. If you have trouble viewing the form, click here. Good Luck!



"..Zoey is finally home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side, and preparing to face off against Neferet – which would be a whole lot easier if the High Counsel saw the ex-High Priestess for what she really is. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx's gift of a human form, Rephaim and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together – if he can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father's shadow…"




Check out the latest news on this series plus a lot of extras by visiting http://houseofnightseries.com/




<p><p>&am…

Humpday Giveaway October 26, 2011

Every Wednesday I'm going to be giving away a gently used copy of one the books listed below. I'll be adding to the lists periodically so be sure to check back every week. This giveaway is for US and Canadian addresses only. Please fill out the form below. Giveaway will end on every Tuesday @ 9 pm central. If you have trouble viewing the form, click here.




Congrats to last week's winner: Michelle @ Book Briefs
YA
Lament by Maggie Stiefvater
Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater The Ancillary's Mark by Daniel A. Cohen Logic of Demons: The Quest For Nadine's Soul by H.A. Goodman (Hardcover) Vampire Crush by A.M. Robinson (arc) Karma by Cathy Ostlere (arc) The Vampire Stalker by Allison Van Diepen (arc) A Girl Named Willow Krimble by Giuseppe Bianco (autographed) Lure by Deborah Kerbel Shadowland (Hardcover) by Alyson Noel The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De La Cruz (hardcover) Hunted by P.C. Cast & Kristen Cast (hardcover) Tempted by P.C. Cast & Kristen Cast (hardcover) After Obsession by…

Teaser Tuesday October 25, 2011

Image
Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following: Grab your current read

The Scorpio Races

Image
Title: The Scorpio Races
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 18, 2011
paperback(arc), 407 pages
ISBN: 978-0-545-22490-1
Genre: YA


Summary:
It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.
At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.
Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.



My thoughts:
Maggie Stiefvater is a brilliant wordsmith. She had delighted me with some of her past novels such as, Shiver and Ballad.  I stayed up all night to finish Shiver, it was that good. So when I found out she was writing a ne…

Caroline Bingley

Image
Title: Caroline Bingley: A Continuation of Jane Austen's Bride and Prejudice
Author: Jennifer Becton
Publisher: Whiteley Press
Publication Date: October 1, 2011
format: ebook
ISBN: 0013352342 (ISBN13: 2940013352346)
Genre: Regency
Available @ Amazon|B&N


Summary:
When Charles Bingley and Mr. Darcy made proposals of marriage to the Bennet sisters at the end of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Caroline Bingley was both distressed by her brother’s choice of bride and humiliated by Mr. Darcy’s rejection of her. And she made her objections known.
Now banished from her brother’s household, Caroline must return to her mother’s home in the north of England until she can make amends with both Bennet sisters. Desperate though Caroline may be to return to polite company, she absolutely refuses to apologize to Miss Elizabeth Bennet, and instead, she seeks an alternative route back into society in the form of Mr. William Charlton, heir to a barony.
Through her connections with Mr. Charlton’s sister…

The Unwanteds Audio Book Review

Image
Title: The Unwanteds
Author: Lisa McMann
Read by: Simon Jones
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Audio
Publication Date: Sept. 20, 2011
ISBN: 978-1+4423-4491-4
Running Time: Approx 7.5 hours
Available @ Amazon

Summary:
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths.
Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret—behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.
In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.
But it's a ra…