Review: Midnight Promises by Sherrly Woods

Title: Midnight Promises (The Sweet Magnolias #8)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Publisher: Harlequin Mira
Published: June 26, 2012
paperback, 374 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0-7783-1348-9
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Summary:
When Elliott Cruz first courted struggling single mom Karen Ames, it it was a romance worthy of any Sweet Magnolia fantasy. The sexy personal trainer made it his mission to restore Karen's strength—physical and emotional—and to charm her children.Now, a few years into the marriage, colliding dreams threaten to tear a few years into the marriage, colliding dreams threaten to tear them them apart. Elliott's desire to finance the business opportunity of a lifetime with their hard-earned "baby money" stirs Karen's deep-rooted financial insecurities. It's the discovery that their brother-in-law is cheating on Elliott's sister—and thinks it's justified—that puts their irreconcilable differences into perspective. Will their own loving fidelity be a bond so strong they can triumph against all odds?

My thoughts:
Midnight Promises by Sherryl Woods is the eighth book in The Sweet Magnolias series. I haven't read any of the first seven books in this series. However after I finished this book I knew this would be a series I'd like to read. Mainly because
1. Woods writes in a way that you could pick up any book in the series and not feel lost. I love it when authors do this. I can't tell you how many series I've read out of order, and not every series is like this.
2. Woods deals with real issues. Elliot and Karen are newly married and trying to build a life together. The issues they deal with seem very realistic and common to a lot of people. This really helped me connect with the characters.
3. The friendships that the women have. They have each other's back! They root for each other's success. Give (sometimes) unwanted advice. They are there for each other in good times and bad. Think Steel Magnolias or the Divine Sisters of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.
4. Margarita night. This book made me want to host my own margarita night.
5. Relationships. Woods deals with all sorts of relationships in this book: mothers, daughters, sisters, brothers, cousins, friends, husbands, wives. Relationships can be complicated, and Woods really brings to the forefront the ups and downs life can bring us.
Overall this is an enjoyable book. I'm definitely going to continue with this series, as well as go back and read the first seven books. I've enjoyed getting 'to know' several of the characters. I look forward to learning more about their stories.
My rating:


  1. I don't usually read these type of books but it sounds really good! Thanks for the review!

  2. Hi Marcie,
    I wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for the ‘One lovely Blog Award.’ You don’t have to participate with a post if you do not wish to, but if you are interested in at least picking up the Award Button, come and stop by my blog.



Post a Comment