Posts

Showing posts from October, 2013

The Northern Frights Giveaway

Image
In The Northern Frights, the third book in the spooky Scary School series, Charles “New Kid” Nukid and his friends, including Lattie, a girl ninja, must fight an epic battle with an ice dragon to save their school. But first they must survive going to Scream Academy as exchange students. And that may be hard, because the Academy has an abominable snowman for a principal, a Headless Horseman as one of the teachers, and the students are yetis, trolls, and ogres!

Will Charles survive to make an ancient prophecy come to pass and save everyone? The illustrated Scary School trilogy by Derek the Ghost, with its mix of humor, scares, and adventure, is a perfect pick for middle-grade readers of the Wayside School series and the Zach Files books.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: When Death Loved An Angel by Cheree Alsop

Image
Blurb:
Death loved his existence. He charmed women, completed his list, and was content until the day he tried to kill Gregan Parker and came face to face with Gregan’s guardian angel. She fought for the man’s life, challenging Death the way no angel ever had. In the face of her defiance, he felt his heart do something it hadn’t for centuries; it beat. Death found himself falling for the angel, but she already loved Gregan, a man who had never seen her.


Watching Nyra love a man who didn’t know of her existence could terminate Death’s heart when it had just begun to beat, but taking away the one thing she cared about would destroy any chance he had with her. Could Death truly put himself last and risk letting his love slip through his fingers, or would he figure out a way to save both his heart and the angel who stole it?
Social Media Links:
website: www.chereealsop.com
facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorchereealsop
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/chereealsop
Amazon for paperback & …

Champion by Marie Lu Giveaway

Image
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion? 

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling tr…

Review: Bespelling Jane Austen

Image
Title: Bespelling Jane Austen
Authors: Mary Balogh, Colleen Gleason , Susan Krinard, Janet Mullany
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Published: October 1, 2011
Ebook
ISBN13: 9781459213906
Genre: paranormal
Source: Library





Goodreads Summary:
Jane Everett and Captain Robert Mitford realize they are reincarnated soul mates; Caroline Merrill suspects Mr. Blanchard of being a vampire; Elizabeth Bennet encounters Charles Bingley and vampires; and Emma Woodhouse runs a dating service for the supernatural.

My thoughts:
Bespelling Jane Austen is a collection of four paranormal stories that are inspired by some of Austen's classic books. The first story, Almost Persuaded, is written by Mary Balogh. As you might have guessed from the title it is based off of Persuasion. Persuasion is my favorite book by Jane Austen so I was anxious to see what Balogh had in store for the readers. Her two main characters are Jane Everett and Captain Robert Midford. Midford has just returned from the war after he had been wound…

Review: The Ghost Prison

Image
Title: The Ghost Prison
Author: Joseph Delaney
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Published: October 1, 2013
Ebook, ARC
ISBN: 978-1-4022-9318-4
Genre: Mystery
Source: NetGalley




Goodreads Summary:
This is the entrance to the Witch Well and behind that door you’d face your worst nightmare. Don’t ever go through there.'

Night falls, the portcullis rises in the moonlight, and young Billy starts his first night as a prison guard. But this is no ordinary prison. There are haunted cells that can’t be used, whispers and cries in the night... and the dreaded Witch Well. Billy is warned to stay away from the prisoner down in the Witch Well. But who could it be? What prisoner could be so frightening? Billy is about to find out...

My thoughts:
Billy Calder is just but fifteen years old. He's about to start his first day at his new job. A night guard at the prison. This isn't just any prison. Rumor has it it's full of ghost. His superior officer told him that he got the night watch because he was spe…

Review: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout and Giveaway

Image
I'm re-posting my review of Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout to help celebrate the release of Sentinel. You can follow the Sentinel tour by clicking here. This review originally ran in October 2011.


Title: Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Publication Date: October 18, 2011
paperback, 281 pages (arc)
ISBN: 978-0-9831572-0-5
Genre: YA

Summary:
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs…

Review: Lady in Red

Image
Title: Lady In Red (Mad Passions #2)
Author: Maire Claremont
Publisher: Signet Eclipse
Published: October 1, 2013
Ebook, ARC
ISBN-13: 9781101609347
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: NetGalley





Goodreads Summary:
The Victorian era was full of majestic beauty and scandalous secrets—a time when corsets were the least of a woman’s restrictions, and men could kill or be killed in the name of honor…

Lady Mary Darrel should be the envy of London. Instead, all society believes her dead. For Mary holds a secret so dangerous, her father chose to keep her locked away…and have a grave made for her near her mother’s. Driven to the edge of desperation, Mary manages to escape the asylum, only to find that her fate yet again rests in the hands of a man…

Edward Barrons, Duke of Fairleigh, longs for some way to escape the torment of his father’s crimes. In Mary’s warrior spirit and haunted gaze—which so mirrors his own—he finally sees his path to redemption. He will stop at nothing to keep her safe, even as she se…

Review: It's Halloween. I'm Turning Green

Image
Title: It's Halloween. I'm Turning Green (My Weird School Special)
Author: Dan Gutman
Pictures by: Jim Paillot
Published: Harper
Published: July 23, 2013
Paperback, 144 pages
ISBN 978-0-06-220679-4
Genre: Middle Grade
Source: Publisher



Goodreads Summary:
In this Weird School Special, It’s Halloween, I’m Turning Green!,  A.J. and the gang from the My Weird School series are ready for one of their favorite holidays!

It’s Halloween, and you know what that means! Candy! Costumes! More candy! What would happen if a kid ate a million hundred pounds of chocolate in one night? One thing’s for sure—when A.J. and his friends from Ella Mentry School go trick-or-treating, it will be a Halloween to remember.

My thoughts:
Halloween is probably one of the top two holidays for kids. What's not to love about getting dressed up and getting candy--lots and lots of candy.

Well the kids at Weird School are not exception. A.J. can't wait till he can stuff himself full of candy. A.J. and his friends gathe…

Shadow Born Guest Post and Giveaway

Image
Everyone tells me I’m a writer, but I still maintain that I am more of a story teller of sorts than anything. My main reason for this is that I have no trouble putting words down on a page, but I am horrible at both spelling and grammar. Fortunately spellcheck has taken much of the frustration out of one of those two quirks of mine. My main focus in any story or novel I write is getting to know my characters. I want to understand them, feel their pain or frustration, and really get a sense of who they are. Usually their backgrounds start light on detail, but begin to unfold just as rapidly as the stories and worlds they are written in. One detail gets added on top of another and suddenly that dark haired boy with sad eyes on page one is no longer as he seems, he has a secret that keeps him in the shadows, and that secret could cost him his life. See how that happened there? In an instant, an idea or personality is born, and it just keeps expanding. That is what I love about writing. T…

Review: The Angel Stone by Juliet Dark

Image
Title: The Angel Stone (The Fairwick Trilogy #3)
Author: Juliet Dark
Published by: Ballantine Books
Published: September 3, 2013
Paperback, 303 pages
ISBN: 978-0-345-53339-5
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Own




Goodreads Summary:
For Callie McFay, a half-witch/half-fey professor of folklore and Gothic literature, the fight to save the enchanted town of Fairwick, New York, is far from over. After a hostile takeover by the Grove—a sinister group of witches and their cohorts—many of the local fey have been banished or killed, including Callie’s one true love. And in place of the spirit of tolerance and harmony, the new administration at Fairwick College has fostered an air of danger and distrust. 

With her unique magical abilities, Callie is the only one who can rescue her friends from exile and restore order to the school—a task that requires her to find the Angel Stone, a legendary talisman of immense power. Propelled on an extraordinary quest back to seventeenth-century Scotland, Callie risks her life to…

Q&A with Andrew Joyce

Image
What made you decide to continue the adventures of Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer?
I had written two books previously, a historical novel (164,000 words), and a book of short stories (185,000 words). When I was trying to find and agent for either one of them, I was repeatedly told that they were two long for a first time author. After a year of trying, I got mad and said, “I can write 80,000 words if that is what you guys want.”
I had just finished reading HUCKLEBERRY FINN, so I sat down at the computer and banged out REDEMPTION in two months. It only took that long because I was still writing short stories and my computer died. It took me two weeks to get it fixed. I was angry! The story is, that within a month of finishing, I had one of the biggest agencies in the country in love with the book.
In Redemption, Huck and Tom are all grown up. How have their lives changed since they were kids?
When they were kids Tom was more in charge of things. But now Huck leads. They understand now that the …