Posts

Showing posts from August, 2014

Review: Created, The Destroyer

Image
Title: Created, The Destroyer
Author: Warren Murphy and Richard Ben Shapir
Publisher: Little Brown Group
Published: December 3, 2012
Paperback, 187 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0615786889
Genre: Action-Adventure
Source: Publisher







Goodreads Summary:
When you're on death row, minutes from the electric chair, and a hook-handed monk offers to save your life if you'll just swallow a simple little pill... what've you got to lose? You take the pill. Then you wake up, officially "dead," in the back of an ambulance, headed for an undisclosed location. Welcome to your new life, working for CURE, the most secret, most deniable, most extra-judicial government agency ever to exist. Only the President knows about it, and even he doesn't control it.

That's what happened to Remo Williams, a New Jersey cop framed for a murder he didn't commit. Framed by the very people who saved him, in fact. And now, trained in esoteric martial arts by Chiun, master of Sinanju, he's going to become …

Review: The Revealed

Image
Title: The Revealed
Author: Jessica Hickam
Publisher: SparkPress
Published: June 17, 2014
Ebook, ARC
ISBN13: 9781940716008
Genre: Dystopia
Source: NetGalley







Goodreads Summary:
Lily Atwood lives in what used to be called Washington, D.C. Her father is one of the most powerful men in the world, having been a vital part of rebuilding and reuniting humanity after the war that killed over five billion people. Now he’s running to be one of its leaders.

But in the rediscovered peace on Earth, a new enemy has risen. They call themselves the Revealed – a powerful underground organization that has been kidnapping 18 year olds across the globe without reservation. No one knows why they are kidnapping these teens, but it’s clear something is different about these people. They can set fires with a snap of their fingers and create a wind strong enough to barrel over a tree with a flick of their wrist. No one has been able to stop them, and they have targeted Lily as their next victim.

But Lily has waited too …

Interview with Brandon Daily

Image
The nineteenth century looms just a few years away, bringing with it the belief in progress and a new world. But for Josiah Fuller, William Corvin, and the Rider in the Appalachian backwoods and small towns of the late nineteenth century, there is nothing but a world where bloodshed is paid for in blood, and violence is the ultimate law of the land.

When seventeen-year-old Josiah Fuller comes home to find his parents hanged and mutilated and the family house burned to the ground, he sets off to find the man responsible for their murders and avenge their deaths. His journey takes him through new towns and wildernesses he has not seen before. He meets people who show him the realities of living in a violent world, forcing Josiah to decide what is most important to him: vengeance or grace.

Years after running away from home as a young boy, William Corvin returns with his new bride to take over the family's coal mining operation. Though he is haunted by the violence of his past, he sets…

To Live Forever Blog Tour: Interview with Andra Watkins

Image
1. What made you pick Meriwether Lewis as a guide to help Emmaline?
Meriwether Lewis is most remembered for being a kind of guide, a leader of a band of men. If he could be trapped between life and death, it made sense to me that he would continue to be assigned variations of a key role he played in life until he redeemed himself.
2. You describe your book as the novel "that usually falls through the cracks as agents and publishers struggle to figure out ‘what shelf does it go on?'"  When writing the story did you ever get bogged down with not being able to fit inside one particular genre?
Humans need classification systems to function. We classify everything on site, from the people we meet to the experiences we're offered to yes, even the books we read. My own experience with easy classifications caused me to almost miss people, experiences and books that have changed my life. As a life-long avid reader, I despair with the focus on genre. I didn't care about genre…

Interview with Denis O'Neill

Image
1.  Whiplash has many positive reviews. Why do you think this story resonates with so many people? I think the coming-of-age passage is a universal one for anyone who's been to - or going to - college... probably for anyone in those crucial 18-22 year-old, leaving-home years, whether college is/was in the mix or not.   The best kind of storytelling always has a universal component dressed up in the specifics of a certain time and place.   I think WHIPLASH has resonated with readers because the four period when I was in college at Dartmouth - particularly the last two years that have been dramatically compressed into one - was so tumultuous and momentous in so many ways: the Vietnam War, Civil Rights, political assassinations, etc.   We were lucky to have lived in such interesting times... "too" interesting, at times... but memorable for that reason... and intriguing to anyone who's gone through a similar passage, perhaps under less trying circumstances.
2. How did you …

Interview with Mary Rowan

Image
1. Leaving the Beach's main character deals with bulimia. Why did you give your character an eating disorder? Well, I had eating disorders for many years--from about age 15 to age 30. During that time, I was both anorexic and bulimic (mainly bulimic). But I also went through brief periods of time when I ate fairly normally. And believe it or not, I don't think anyone--even my parents, best friends, and boyfriends--ever knew I was sick because I hid it all so well. In other words, I was living a fairly full life, despite my illness. So I really wanted to write a book about a character with a serious eating disorder, but who also has other things going on. Another way to say it is that I didn't want to write an "issue" book. 
2. Erin's also obsessed with music: Jim Morrison, David Bowie, and Bruce Springsteen, to name a few. What is it about these musicians that resonate with Erin?  All of these musicians are strong, sexy, iconic, male singer-songwriters who have …

Feature: Robert Friedrich

Image
Hello and welcome to the show, my name is Robert Friedrich and I am an Indie Author of Horror and Sci-fi. I recently returned from Egypt back to Eastern Europe – Slovakia – where I am from and am using my location now to spread my work over Europe. You want to know more about me? Look into what I write as set in examples below – there is always a piece of me in everything I write.
Full Bio: Robert Friedrich is an Author who writes in a multitude of styles which include Novella's, Short Stories, Poetry and even Screenplays. His books are famous for taking an unconventional route through the darkest of places and emotions, and are generally driven by fast paced action and direct-from-heart dialogue. His current releases include: The Darkness Within: A Novella, Enlightened by Darkness Anthologies, The Book of Metal Lyrics and Seed of Evil, which is the first part of an entire up-coming Saga. Robert surprises his audience by how different, each of his book's tone, message is and how…

Save the date!

Image
Twitter will be burning hot this summer when two wonderfully talented British suspense/mystery authors will be answering YOUR questions. Here's what you need to know:
Who: Sarah Hilary (@sarah_hilary) and Alex Marwood (@AlexMarwood1) What: Twitter Chat. Sarah and Alex will answer your questions! When: Wednesday, August 20th from 12-1 pm EST Where:  #killerfiction Why: Why not?


PRAISE FOR SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN
“Award-winning short story writer Sarah Hilary has crafted a tight, nasty mystery… gripping and full of graphic details about the lives and psychology of her characters, both abusers and their victims.” —Eileen Brady, Mystery Scene Magazine
“If this first entry is anything to go by, Hilary's sense of plot and subtle character building will make the DI Marnie Rome series one to watch.” —Shelf-Awareness
“Promising…[Hilary] skillfully interweaves multiple viewpoints on the way to the mystery’s unsettling conclusion.” —Publishers Weekly
“Fans of Val McDermid and Ian Rankin will love this tr…

Ghosts of Salem by Sam Baltrusis Spotlight

Image
Synopsis
Nestled on the rocky coast of Massachusetts, Salem is a city
steeped with history and legend. Famously known for its witch trials, the historic North Shore seaport also has a dark history of smugglers and deadly fires. It is considered to be one of New England's most haunted destinations. Inside Howard Street Cemetery, the ghost of accused witch Giles Corey wanders among the gravestones. Outside the Ropes Mansion the ghost of Abigail Ropes can be seen peeking out of the windows. The Gardner-Pingree House on Essex Street
is host to the spirit of sea captain Joseph White, a man whose murder in 1830 inspired literary giants like Edgar Allen Poe and Nathaniel Hawthorne. Join author and paranormal journalist Sam Baltrusis on a chilling journey through the streets of Salem as he chronicles the historic haunts of the Witch City.








PURCHASE Amazon - Paperback Amazon - Kindle
Barnes & Noble - Paperback B&N Nook Kobo iTunes
*Add this book to
your Goodreads
shelf HERE
*


About The Autho…

My Viking Vampire Feature and Giveaway

Image
My Viking Vampire Sanctuary, Texas by Krystal Shannan
Bailey Ross’ world is crumbling around her. Her abusive ex, a human, is closing in on her again, and to make matters worse, a new enemy, a djinn, is stalking her. This supernatural being takes great pleasure in human pain, something Bailey has in excess thanks to her ex. If she’s caught by either, she’s as good as dead.
Backed into a corner and desperate to escape, she does something she swore wouldn’t ever be possible again –trusting a man. And he’s a vampire.
Protection via the sexy vampire Erick Thorson may prove to be a little more than she bargained for. Sparks fly between them and she finds herself agreeing to more than just protection. Though he has promised not to let anyone harm her, the small west Texas town is more than it seems and he may not be able to make good on his vow no matter how hard he tries.
Will Sanctuary be the home Bailey longs for or will she have to die to find out?
COMING AUGUST 25th!
Sanctuary, Texas Pintere…