Posts

Showing posts from January, 2016

Review: A Decade of French Fashion

Image
Title: A Decade of French Fashion, 1929-1938: From the Depression to the Brink of War
Author: Mary Carolyn Waldrep
Publisher: Dover Publications 
Published: August 19, 2015
Ebook
ISBN: 9780486797830
Genre: Fashion
Source: NetGalley






Summary:In addition to a world-wide depression and the rise of Fascism throughout Europe, the years between 1929 and 1938 witnessed dramatic changes in women's fashion. With the turning of the decade, the free and easy fashions of the Roaring Twenties shifted to a softer, more conservative look, with an emphasis on curves rather than angles. Hemlines plummeted almost overnight and did not begin to rise until mid-decade.
These selections from full-color French catalogs produced for the American market from 1929 through 1938 document the changes in fashion from the time of the stock market crash to the dawn of World War II. More than 100 images of day and evening wear illustrate the movement from flapper fashions to a more austere look. Fashion designers, costume …

For fans of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places and Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

Image
NOW TheDarkestCornersBook.com website includes a teaser video and new original article by author Kara Thomas, check it out!

THE DARKEST CORNERS (Delacorte Press For Young Readers/ On sale April 19, 2016 / Ages 14 and up)
«“Thomas carefully crafts the suspense, leaving present-tense narrator Tessa—and readers—to doubt even those she loves the most… An unsettling story of loss, lies, and violence lurking in the shadows of a small town.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review
A tight, twisted thriller, full of deft reversals and disturbing revelations--deeply, compulsively satisfying!” —Brenna Yovanoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Replacement
"As dark as Gillian Flynn and as compulsive as Serial...Kara Thomas's mystery debut is intricate, chilling, and deeply compelling. Unforgettable!” —Laura Salters, author of Run Away
There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happe…

Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier #2016ClassicsChallenge

Image
From Daphne du Maurier—the beloved author of the timeless classic Rebecca—comes this haunting novel of secrets and suspense

The coachman tried to warn young Mary Yellan away from the ruined, forbidding place on the rainswept Cornish coast. But Mary chose instead to honor her mother's dying request that she join her frightened Aunt Patience and foreboding Uncle Joss Merlyn at Jamaica Inn. From her first glimpse on that raw November eve, she could sense the inn's dark power.

Mary never imagined that she would become hopelessly ensnared in the vile, villainous schemes being hatched within its crumbling walls—or that she would fall in love with a handsome, enigmatic stranger. But what secrets is he hiding from her—and can she really trust him?

Jamaica Inn is a riveting, classic novel of romantic suspense only the brilliant mind of Daphne du Maurier could conceive.


WHEN I Discovered This Classic I discovered and bought JamaicaInn by Daphne du Maurier last year while I was doing a bit o…

Spotlight: Debt by Rachel Dunning

Image
99c Pre-Order Sale
Over 400 Pages
Standalone Novel
New-Adult Romance / Sports Romance

DEBT
By Rachel Dunning
Expected Release Date: March 2016
What’s it about?
The Debt Collector
I pay my debts, and I expect others to. I was raised in the slums of London, I knew nothing of privilege. My father was murdered when I was seventeen. Morty figured my father's passing meant I would automatically take on dad's debts. I refused. And I paid for that refusal. So did my sister. So now I fight. All I know how to do is fight. The best cash is in the states, so that's where I am now. A big fish called Vito came along offering me a "favor" when I arrived. Another debt. I paid for that one too. I knew Kyla Hensley would be trouble when I met her. But I wanted her. I could see through the falsehood of her wannabe-slutty clothes and her sexy legs. So I chased her. Besides, trouble is my middle name. Kyla HensleyI was brought up in privilege, but I lacked everything else. My father is a busi…

What makes for the best rogue? Her Wicked Proposal Book Blast

Image
What makes for the best rogue?A Rogue is a ​person, ​organization, or ​country that does not ​behave in the ​usual or ​acceptable way. In the Regency era, the terms rakehell or “rake” and “rogue” were used daily in conversation. A rake was a man who was charming, seductive, and a little too dangerous for a lady’s reputation. A rogue was something considerably worse than a rake. A Rogue was a rake with an added level of dangerous, not just for the ladies but for the men. What I mean is that a rogue would challenge other men to duels, get in bar brawls, and be in general more “edgy” as a man. If you called a man a rogue in the Regency he would be the Regency equivalent of an alpha male hero. For me the best rogues have the following qualities: 1)A good sense of humor 2)That perfect ability to know when to steal a kiss from a woman at the right time 3)A way with words, and yet also knowing when actions are better to woo a woman 4)A loyal heart to his friends and his family and eventually the…

Review: The Forgotten Room

Image
Title: The Forgotten Room: A Novel
Author: Karen White, Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig
Publisher: NAL
Published: January 19, 2016
ISBN: 9780451474629
Paperback, ARC, 384 pages
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: Publisher



Summary: New York Times bestselling authors Karen White, Beatriz Williams, and Lauren Willig present a masterful collaboration—a rich, multigenerational novel of love and loss that spans half a century....

1945: When the critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenal is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan’s Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single extraordinary room in a Gilded Age mansion.

Who is the woman in Captain Ravenel's portrait miniature who looks so much like Kate? And why is she wearing the ruby pendant handed down to Kate by her mother? In their pursuit of answers, they find themselves drawn into the turbulent stories of Gilded Age Olive Van Alen, driven from…

TEN WAYS TO REMAKE YOUR LIFE

Image
TEN WAYS TO REMAKE YOUR LIFE
Life is a journey in more ways than one. The path doesn’t always go according to plan. What if—through no fault of your own—you had to remake your life from scratch and change your goals, expectations, and focus? That’s exactly what happens to the hero and heroine (Ryan and Jenna) in REMAKING RYAN.
Here’s how they went about remaking their lives in ten steps:
Number One: To remake their lives, they must have their worlds knocked out from under them with no alternative plans for the future. If you’re a rich and famous football player, this involves a painful career-ending injury. If you’re the pregnant wife of a military pilot, this involves learning your husband is having multiple affairs and at least one of his girlfriends is also knocked up. And then the pilot is killed in action leaving you with an emotional stew of anger, humiliation, and righteous indignation. On top of all that, you lose your job and apartment.
Number two: Deny or delay the inevitable …