Posts

Showing posts from March, 2017

Review: Shakespeare Retold

Image
Title: Shakespeare Retold Author E. Nesbit Publisher: Harper Published: October 18, 2016 Hardcover, 128 pages ISBN: 9780062404534 Genre: Children's Fiction Source: Publisher
Summary
A beautifully illustrated collection of prose retellings of seven Shakespeare plays will bring the Bard to life for young readers. Not only is this a beautiful keepsake edition, full of gorgeous illustrations by Antonio Javier Caparo, but the prose retellings by beloved classic children’s book author E. Nesbit are an excellent tool to introduce children to the complex language of Shakespeare.

A foreword by John Lithgow touches on his own childhood as a Shakespearean actor and the importance of Shakespeare. The book contains extensive support materials, including a biography, a timeline of Shakespeare’s life, and further recommended readings.

In this volume, you will find:


Romeo and Juliet
A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Twelfth Night
Hamlet
Macbeth
The Tempest
Much Ado About Nothing
My Thoughts After a day of visiting…

5 Books From @Harper360 That Will Make You Want To Stay In And Read All Summer

Image
Just when you thought your tbr pile couldn't get any bigger from all the books coming out this summer from Dey Street BooksWilliam Morrow PaperbacksAvon and Voyager, and Harper, Harper 360 waltzes in with a few amazing titles of their own. 







Wishbones Virginia Macgregor Release Date: May 23, 2017 Available for Pre-order
Feather Tucker has two wishes:


1)To get her mum healthy again


2) To win the Junior UK swimming championships


When Feather comes home on New Year’s Eve to find her mother – one of Britain’s most obese women- in a diabetic coma, she realises something has to be done to save her mum’s life. But when her Mum refuses to co-operate Feather realises that the problem run deeper than just her mum’s unhealthy appetite.


Over time, Feather’s mission to help her Mum becomes an investigation. With the help of friends old and new, and the hindrance of runaway pet goat Houdini, Feather’s starting to uncover when her mum’s life began to spiral out of control and why. But can Feather fix…

International bestseller Jill Mansell weaves a heartwarming tale of love, family, and friendship in her latest novel + a #giveaway

Image
Title: Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay Author: Jill Mansell Pub Date: May 2, 2017
International bestseller Jill Mansell weaves a heartwarming tale of love, family and friendship in her latest novel

1. A brief encounter that could have become so much more…if only everything were different
2. Step-sisters, bitter rivals in every area except one—by unbreakable pact neither will ever steal a man from the other
3. A love triangle that starts out as a mess of secrets and mix-ups, and only gets worse from there

Plus!
Friendship, family ties, crossed wires and self-discovery, second chances and first impressions

Welcome to Jill Mansell’s blustery seaside world. Once you step inside, you’ll never want to leave!

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, Eng…

Flowers, Brontes, and Painting: Last Week In Review (41)

Image
Last week was a pretty good week. I want to start with Things I Watched last week because I took my daughter to see Beauty and the Beast! It was awesome. If you have the chance, go see it!!! Triple exclamation points because that's how badly I want you to see it.


Also, I watched To Walk Invisible Sunday on PBS. I thought it was really good. I'm not sure if Anne Bronte would have like it, though. It's probably available for streaming on PBS in case you missed it or you just want to watch it again. It made me want to learn more about this talented family.




And last, but not least, I watched another episode of The Mindy Project. The last few episodes have been good. So, for now, the breakup is off.
What I Read Last week, I read two books: A Death By Any Other Name and 84, Charing Cross Road. I posted my review of A Death By Any Other Name last Friday. Click here if you want to read it. I read 84, Charing Cross Road over the weekend. It a short but endearing read. 






What I'…

Review: A Death By Any Other Name

Image
A DEATH BY ANY OTHER NAME By Tessa Arlen Minotaur Books  Hardcover  9781250101426 March 14, 2017
Summary The elegant Lady Montfort and her redoubtable housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, investigate a murder among a group of amateur rose-breeders while the idyllic English summer days count down to the start of the First World War.

When Mrs. Jackson receives a visit from a cook who believes she was an indirect witness to murder from a poisoned dish of breakfast kedgeree Lady Montfort promises to do what she can to clear the cook’s name, and contrives an invitation to Hyde Castle, the home of a self-made millionaire, to investigate a murder of concealed passions and secret desires.

With the help of the invaluable Jackson Lady Montfort sets about solving the puzzle surrounding the death of the rose society’s most popular member and discovers a villain of audacious cunning among a group of mild-mannered, amateur rose-breeders.

While they investigate, the headlines bring news of the growing crisis i…

From Magpie Murders to Michael Crichton, your bookish summer just got made! @harperbooks ‏

Image
Dey Street BooksWilliam Morrow Paperbacks, Avon and Voyager have some amazing titles coming out this summer. And just when you thought it can't get any better, Harper swoops in with a whole lot of bookish delights. From Murder to Michael Crichton, your bookish summer just got made! 





Magpie Murders Anthony Horowitz Release Date: June 6. 2017 Available for Pre-Order
From the New York Times bestselling author of Moriarty and Trigger Mortis, this fiendishly brilliant, riveting thriller weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery.

When editor Susan Ryeland is given the manuscript of Alan Conway’s latest novel, she has no reason to think it will be much different from any of his others. After working with the bestselling crime writer for years, she’s intimately familiar with his detective, Atticus Pünd, who solves mysteries disturbing sleepy English villages. An homage to queens of classic British crime such as Agatha Christi…

Your summer will be even hotter with these titles from @Avonbooks and @HarperVoyagerUS

Image
Last week, I shared some upcoming titles from Dey Street Books and William Morrow Paperbacks. Yesterday was the first day of spring, but today's going to feel like summer with these hot, new titles from Avon and Voyager. 


Hate To Want You (Forbidden Hearts #1) Alisha Rai Release Date: July 25, 2017 Available for Pre-Order
One night. No one will know.

That was the deal. Every year, Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler would share one perfect night of illicit pleasure. The forbidden hours let them forget the tragedy that haunted their pasts-and the last names that made them enemies.

Until the night she didn’t show up.

Now Nicholas has an empire to run. He doesn’t have time for distractions and Livvy’s sudden reappearance in town is a major distraction. She’s the one woman he shouldn’t want…so why can’t he forget how right she feels in his bed?

Livvy didn’t come home for Nicholas, but fate seems determined to remind her of his presence–and their past. Although the passion between them might have…

Murder, Mindy, and Spring In This Week's Last Week In Review (40)

Image
Hi, everyone! I hope you had a great weekend. We had nice, warm-ish weather here. My family and I were able to spend some time out of doors. I think I've been missing that a lot with the cold weather.

And in case you didn't know. Today's the first day of spring! 

I love spring. It's my favorite season. Fall is a close second, though.
Now, let's get to what I did last week. 



I finished two books: The Enemies of Versailles and Northanger Abbey. I reviewed The Enemies of Versailles on Friday. There's a giveaway included in the post. As of today, there's eleven days left to enter.                                                                                                     

Currently, I'm reading A Death By Any Other Name by Tessa Arlen. This is the third book in the Lady Montfort Mystery series. I'm a few chapters in and I love it! I have it scheduled to review for Friday. 



I didn't watch a lot of television last week. I continued with The M…