Friday, February 23, 2018

0 Review: The Clarity


THE CLARITY by Keith Thomas
Book Riot: 
“you’ll love this chilling speculative thriller. Tautly plotted and well researched, this book is a riveting take on the possibility of afterlife and reincarnation.”
Bookbub features The Clarity in a “18 Books for Stephen King's Fans Coming in 2018”

“Keith Thomas’s debut, The Clarity, is a taut, riveting thriller, a perfect balance of scientific speculation and storytelling, all centered on a young girl of amazing talent and heart. I read it one sitting…and wanted to read it all over again once I turned the last page. An impressive debut that can only herald great things to come by this author.” – James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The Seventh Plague

“Thomas’s strong debut, a paranormal thriller [...] maintains the believability of his tightly coiled plot throughout.” – PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

As seen in PUREWOW’s “20 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018” and i09’s “Get Cozy With 18 New Science Fiction and Fantasy Books This February” roundups

The Night Doctors are coming? Are you ready?


Keith Thomas’ debut novel is an exhilarating ride, a visceral high concept thriller perfect for fans of Black Mirror and True Detective, about a psychologist who must protect the life of an eleven-year-old girl whose ability to remember past lives makes them both targets of a merciless killer. Dr. Matilda Deacon is a psychologist researching how memories are made and stored when she meets a strange eleven-year-old girl named Ashanique. Ashanique claims to harbor the memories of the last soldier killed in World War I and Matilda is at first very interested but skeptical. However, when Ashanique starts talking about being chased by the Night Doctors—a term also used by an unstable patient who was later found dead—Matilda can’t deny that the girl might be telling the truth.

Matilda learns that Ashanique and her mother have been on the run their whole lives from a monstrous assassin named Rade. Rade is after a secret contained solely in memories and has left a bloody trail throughout the world in search of it. Matilda soon realizes Ashanique is in unimaginable danger and that her unique ability comes with a deadly price.

Fast-paced, suspenseful, and a chilling blend of science and danger, The Clarity is a compelling take on the possibilities of reincarnation and life after death.


My Thoughts


Reincarnation. Heaven. Nothing. The mystery of what happens after we die has long been debated among the scholarly, the religious, the curious. But the truth is we won't know what happens until it happens to us. But even still, it doesn't ease the wondering, the speculating, and in some cases, the anxiety.

Ashanique, an eleven-year-old girl, wakes up one night with the memories of a soldier who was killed in World War I. Matilda, a psychologist who is trying to understand the complexities of how memory works in order to help her mother who has dementia. A cold-blooded killer searching for the mysterious Fifty-One. These are the characters in this complex, thrilling novel.

Matilda meets Ashanique when she is asked by a neighbor to look in on the child. She's immediately taken with the little girl, but it isn't long before Matilda gets caught up in a plot that has her running for her life from a man who has left a trail of bodies all over the world searching for this girl.

I picked up The Clarity expecting to read a few chapters but soon found myself glued to the pages as the story unfolded beneath my fingertips. The intricate story plus the compelling characters made an exciting read. Keith Thomas hit the mark with this one. Your going to want to add this book to your wish list!


0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

To Read, or Not To Read Copyright © 2010-2018 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates