Thursday, April 26, 2018

0 Fall in love with audiobooks with SYNC's summer of FREE #audiobooks


Fall in love with audiobooks this summer with SYNC's summer of FREE audiobooks. You read that right: FREE. We're huge audiobook fans in my house and we've enjoyed this program over the past few years. I have two (at times) reluctant readers. Audiobooks has helped open the door to exploring new books by making reading fun. The right narrator can make a book come to life like never before. 

With those of you who are unfamiliar with SYNC, here's the deal:

SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. Returning April 26, 2018, SYNC will give away (aka FREE) two complete audiobook downloads a week - pairs of high interest titles, based on weekly themes.  

SYNC is sponsored by AudioFile Magazine and titles are delivered through the OverDrive app. In advance of accessing the program, download the app in advance to whichever device you anticipate listening on and be ready to go! *The app is FREE too! I've downloaded it on my computer since the files can be large and I have limited space on my phone. 

All you need to do is sign-up to get notifications when the FREE audiobook downloads are available. You can receive alerts by text message, email newsletter, or by visiting www.audiobooksync.com. Titles change every Thursday at 7am ET when the program is running.


Remember go to https://audiobooksync.com/ to download these titles.

This week's selection is:




The Great War
by David Almond, John Boyne, Tracy Chevalier, Ursula Dubosarsky, Timothée de Fombelle

Read by Nico Evers-Swindell, JD Jackson, Gerard Doyle, Richard Halverson, Sarah Coomes, Nick Podehl

A toy soldier. A butter dish. A compass. Mundane objects, perhaps, but to the remarkable authors in this collection, artifacts such as these have inspired stories that go to the heart of the human experience of World War I. Each author was invited to choose an object that had a connection to the war—a writing kit for David Almond, a helmet for Michael Morpurgo—and use it as the inspiration for an original short story. What results is an extraordinary collection, illustrated throughout by the award-winning Jim Kay and featuring photographs of the objects with accounts of their history and the authors' reasons for selecting them. A blend of fiction and real-life events, this unique anthology provides young readers with a personal window into the Great War and the people affected by it, and serves as an invaulable resource for families and teachers alike.


A Study in Charlotte
by Brittany Cavallaro
Read by Graham Halstead, Julia Whelan

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends. But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.


Thank you, Candlewick Press and Harper Audio, for this week's selection!

May 3 – May 9


May 10 – May 16


May 17 – May 23


May 24 – May 30


May 31 – June 6


June 7 – June 13


June 14 – June 20


June 21 – June 27


June 28 – July 4


July 5 – July 11


July 12 – July 18


July 19 – July 25

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

To Read, or Not To Read Copyright © 2010-2018 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates