Posts

Showing posts from February, 2020

The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr is now out in paperback, and you can win a copy!

Image
The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr Paperback Publication Date: February 18, 2020 Atria Books Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages Genre: Historical/Gothic/Mystery The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr is now out in paperback! In it, a post-mortem photographer unearths the dark secrets of a famed poet’s marriage in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale , and Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights ” (BookPage). Blurring the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death, The Lost History of Dreams is “a surrealist, haunting tale of suspense where every prediction turns out to be merely a step toward a bigger reveal” (Booklist). When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is found dead in his bath one morning in 1850, final arrangements are left to his estranged cousin, historian turned postmortem photographer Robert Highstead. De Bonne’s wi

I finished reading the Poldark series, and I regret nothing!

Image
In 2015 I discovered, thanks to PBS, the Poldark saga. I fell in love with the television series first, and then I fell in love with the books. After the first season ended, I started devouring the books, only a few at a time as to go along with each season. However, this past year the television series came to an end, and I had made it a goal to finish all twelve Poldark books by the end of the year. I failed. I got so close with reading ten of the twelve books. So it then became my January goal--which I smashed! Enough can't be said about how amazing these books are. The series is a complex tapestry with amazing characters. I loved and hated Ross. I adored Demelza. Elizabeth drove me crazy. George Warleggan is a piece of work. And of course all the other characters are what helps make this series so interesting, not to mention all the historical details and the vivid background of Cornwall. I have enjoyed every minute I spent reading this series, both paperback and ebook,