Lead With Your Strengths in Week 9 of Sync's Summer of Audiobooks



Be sure to sign up at audiobooksync.com to download this week's titles. You'll also need to download the Sora app on your phone or tablet. Follow the instructions. It's super easy. It took me less than 5 minutes to do it. If you've already downloaded the app, then the titles should be available in the app. And for my international friends, ALL SYNC titles are available worldwide. And remember, you only have one week to download the titles, after that you'll have to purchase them.


How do I set up Sora?

Download Sora from the  Apple App Store  or  Google Play Store .
Open Sora and tap  I have a setup code  (at the bottom of the screen).
Enter this setup code:  audiobooksync .
Enter the email address you used to register for SYNC.
Tap  Explore  (at the bottom of the screen) to see the week’s featured titles.
I already use Sora for school. How do I add SYNC titles?

If you already use Sora, you’ll need to add the SYNC program’s library. Here are the steps:

In Sora, open the menu (in the top-right corner).
Select  Add a public library .
Search for  audiobooksync  and select the library from the results.
Enter the email address you used to register for SYNC.

Available: 06/25 - 07/01


by Matt de la Peña | Read by Henry Leyva
Published by Brilliance Audio


“[A] first-rate exploration of self-identity.” —School Library Journal

Danny’s tall and skinny. Even though he’s not built, his arms are long enough to give his pitch a power so fierce any college scout would sign him on the spot. Ninety-five-mile-an-hour fastball, but the boy’s not even on a team. Every time he gets up on the mound, he loses it. Ball ends up so far out of the strike zone it’s laughable.

But at his private school, they don’t expect much else from him. Danny’s brown. Half-Mexican brown. And growing up in San Diego, that close to the border, means everyone knows exactly who he is before he even opens his mouth. Before they find out he can’t speak Spanish, and before they realize his mom has blond hair and blue eyes, they’ve got him pegged. But it works the other way too. And Danny’s convinced it’s his whiteness that sent his father back to Mexico.

That’s why he’s spending the summer with his dad’s family. Only, to find himself, he may just have to face the demons he refuses to see—the demons that are right in front of his face. And open up to a friendship he never saw coming.

Set in the alleys and on the ball fields of San Diego County, Mexican WhiteBoy is a story of friendship, acceptance, and the struggle to find your identity in a world of definitions.




by Alison Gervais | Read by Chloe Dolandis
Published by Blink


#OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

“It’s time we see more Deaf characters in books. It’s time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture,” said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating—and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life—Deaf and hearing alike—ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture

Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais

Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell

Comments